Do You Need Insurance To Register A Car In Texas? #1

Posted by

You have just bought a car and are unsure of the first steps to take for registration. A good place to start would be to ask, “Do you need insurance to register a car in Texas?”

Well, insurance is actually a legal requirement to register your car in Texas. Failure to do so can attract fines, license suspension, lawsuits, etc.

Good news! This article not only answers your question, but you will learn about the cost of car insurance, how to cut insurance costs, steps to register your car and obtain proof of insurance, and lots more!

Enjoy every sentence!

Do You Need Insurance To Register A Car In Texas?

The short answer is yes, you’re legally required to have insurance before you can register a car in Texas.

Texas is one the states that require you to provide a “proof of insurance” as part of the documents for registration. You can also be asked to provide one while driving on the road.

If you are a car owner, you are expected to be fully registered within 30 days of entry into the state of Texas.

Why Is Insurance A Requirement For Car Registration In Texas

If you’re wondering why car insurance is a requirement for registration. Here are some legitimate reasons:

  • It is required by law in Texas.
  • It protects other drivers and their property from financial loss in case of an accident.
  • It helps to ensure that drivers are financially responsible in case of an accident.
  • It can help to reduce the number of uninsured drivers on the road.
  • It can help you keep premiums lower for all drivers.

Are you sure you need insurance to register a car in California?

Dangers of Driving Without Insurance

Several issues can arise from driving without insurance. Let’s take a look at them:

  • Financial loss
  • License Suspension
  • Higher Premiums
  • Criminal Charges
  • Accident victim liability.

Let’s talk about each point.

1. Financial Loss:

If you get into an accident and do not have insurance, you could be held financially responsible for all the damages and injuries caused by the accident. Covering these expenses could lead to a huge financial loss for you.

2. License Suspension:

You stand the risk of having your driver’s license suspended when you drive without insurance. This will inevitably lead to additional fines and costs to get your license reinstated.

3. Higher Premiums:

Insurance companies give premiums based on the kind of driver you are. If you are involved in an accident while driving without insurance, your insurance premiums could increase significantly when you do get insurance.

4. Criminal Charges:

You already know that driving without insurance is a criminal offense in Texas. You could be charged with a misdemeanor, which could lead to fines and even jail time. 

5. Accident Victim Liability:

An uninsured driver is likely irresponsible in other areas and could possibly not have the money to foot the bills for the damage he has caused. This could leave the other driver with the responsibility of footing their own bill.

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements In Texas

The minimum car insurance coverage acceptable for every driver living in Texas is:

Liability insurance:

  • $30,000 in bodily injury per person
  • $60,000 in bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 for property damage

Other types of coverages like; comprehensive and collision are optional. Although it is a good idea to get the added layer of protection because you may end up needing it.

If you would love to know more about Auto Transport Insurance Requirements, see that great guide.

Average Cost Of Car Insurance in Texas

The average cost of minimum car insurance for a driver in Texas is $565. The average cost for full coverage stands at $2,019.

Keep in mind that although this is the obtainable cost for car insurance, insurance premiums vary greatly from driver to driver. Each driver is charged a particular premium based on several factors like; age, driving record, vehicle type, etc.

10 Factors That Determine Cost Of Car Insurance in Texas

Here are ten possible things that can affect the cost of your car insurance rate in Texas.

  • Driving Record
  • Age
  • Gender
  • Location
  • Vehicle Type
  • Credit Score
  • Coverage Limits
  • Deductibles
  • Discounts
  • Policy Features

Hold on, let’s talk about them a little!

#1. Driving Record:

Your driving record will greatly affect your insurance rates. If you have a record of accidents or traffic violations, you will likely pay more for insurance.

#2. Age:

Due to the higher amount of risk they potentially constitute, younger drivers typically pay higher rates than older drivers.

#3. Gender:

In general, men pay higher rates than women for car insurance.

#4. Location:

Location affects your insurance rates. This could be higher for you if you live in the urban areas where there are more drivers who pose more risk of accidents.

#5. Vehicle Type:

If you have a high-performance vehicle, insurance for this typically costs more than basic models. This is because payment for repair or replacement in the case of an accident is not the same.

Do You Need Insurance To Register A Car In Texas? - Vehicle
Yes, you’re legally required to have insurance before you can register a car in Texas.

#6. Credit Score:

In many states, including Texas, your credit score can impact your insurance rates because it says a lot about you . If you have a poor credit score, you typically pay higher rates.

#7. Coverage Limits:

The amount of coverage you have will also determine your rates. Higher coverage limits will generally result in higher premiums.

#8. Deductible:

If you are required to pay a high deductible, then the tour insurance premium should be lower in cost.

#9. Discounts:

Many insurance companies offer discounts for things like safe driving, having multiple policies with the same company, and more. Taking advantage of discounts can help you save on your insurance costs.

#10. Policy Features:

The specific features of your policy, such as collision and comprehensive coverage, rental car reimbursement, etc., will also affect your insurance rates.

See this: Do You Need Insurance To Register A Car In Florida?

10 Ways To Spend Less On Car Insurance In Texas

Insurance can be expensive in Texas, but there are many ways you can cut down costs. Take a look:

  • Shop around for quotes from multiple insurers.
  • Increase your deductible.
  • Ask about discounts.
  • Bundle your policies with the same insurer.
  • Maintain a good driving record.
  • Compare rates every year.
  • Purchasing only the coverage you need.
  • Choose a safe car.
  • Keep your credit score high.
  • Pay your bills on time.

Let’s see how they work!

1. Shopping Around For Quotes:

Different insurers can offer different rates for the same coverage. You shouldn’t settle for the first insurance provider you meet. Ask for quotes from different providers until you find one that fits your budget.

2. Increasing Your Deductible:

If you’re willing to pay a higher deductible, you will get a lower insurance premium. Before you do this, check to make sure that this is the best option for you.

3. Asking About Discounts:

Multiple discounts exist for things you haven’t even thought of; being a safe driver, having multiple policies in the same company, etc. Ask your provider to give you information about all the discounts available in the company.

4. Bundling Your Policies:

If you get all the insurance coverage you need from one company, you stand a high chance of getting discounts when you bundle them together. 

5. Maintaining A Clean Driving Record:

The fewer accidents and tickets you have, the lower your premiums will be. This is because insurance companies check your driving record before they charge you.  So, drive safely.

6. Comparing Rates Annually:

Always do a review of your insurance rates as it could get higher without you noticing. Also, check rates in other companies and ensure your company is still giving you the best possible deal.

7. Purchasing Only the Coverage You Need:

There’s a possibility of being over-insured. This means that you are paying for insurance you don’t need. Look through your insurance plan and ensure that you require all the insurance coverage you are purchasing.

8. Choosing A Safe Car:

You might want to find out which vehicles are considered safer by insurance companies before you purchase one. This would certainly reduce the cost of your car insurance later. 

9. Keeping Your Credit Score High:

A high credit score is an absolute plus. Your credit score can impact your car insurance rates, as insurers often use it to determine premiums. With a high credit score, you can get lower premiums.

10. Paying Bills On Time:

If you have a history of paying bills late, your insurance company may consider you a riskier customer and charge you higher premiums. Paying your bills on time can help you avoid these higher costs.

Read Also: What happens if a Stolen Car is Found After Insurance Payment

Who Needs To Register A Car In Texas

With the information you’ve gotten, you are ready to get your car registered. But you might still need information on whether you need to register your car in Texas.

If you are in these categories, you definitely should register your car:

  • All drivers who operate a vehicle in Texas are required to register it.
  • Both residents and non-residents must register their vehicles.

However, If you are a traveler and you don’t plan to be in Texas for more than 30 days, then you don’t need to register your car.

Documents Needed For Car Registration In Texas

Here are the documents you need to register your car in Texas:

  • The vehicle’s title or registration certificate.
  • Proof of insurance.
  • A completed Application for Texas Certificate of Title.
  • A valid driver’s license or government-issued photo ID.
  • A passing vehicle inspection report, if required by your county.
  • Payment for the registration fees.

In addition to all these, you’ll also need to visit your local county tax office to complete the registration process.

Do you really need proof of insurance to register a car?

Steps To Register Your Car In Texas

Here are the steps you’ll need to follow to register your car in Texas:

  • Gather all the required documents listed above.
  • Visit your local county tax office to start the registration process.
  • Complete the Application for Texas Certificate of Title and turn it into the county tax office.
  • Pay the registration fees and any applicable taxes.
  • Receive your registration sticker and title certificate, if applicable.
  • Place the registration sticker on your car’s license plate.

Documents That Could Serve As Proof Of Insurance In Texas

There are a few documents that could serve as proof of insurance in Texas, and they include:

  • A valid insurance policy.
  • An insurance card issued by your insurer.
  • A letter from your insurer that confirms your insurance coverage.
  • A declaration page from your insurance policy.

Presenting any of these documents can prove that you have the required amount of insurance coverage to register your car in Texas.

It’s important to note that photocopies and electronic versions of these documents are not accepted as proof of insurance.

Frequently Asked Questions

[sc_fs_multi_faq headline-0=”h3″ question-0=”Do I need insurance before I can register my car in Texas?” answer-0=”Yes, insurance is one of the requirements for registering a car in Texas. At the point of registration, you will need to present a proof of insurance to show that you have insurance for your car.” image-0=”” headline-1=”h3″ question-1=”Can I use a photocopy of my insurance card as proof of insurance?” answer-1=”No, a photocopy of your insurance card will not be accepted as proof of insurance. You will find documents that are used as proof of insurance in Texas, in this article.” image-1=”” headline-2=”h3″ question-2=”What if I don’t have proof of insurance when I go to register my car?” answer-2=”If you don’t have proof of insurance, you will not be allowed to register your car.” image-2=”” headline-3=”h3″ question-3=”Can I register my car online if I don’t have proof of insurance?” answer-3=”No, the requirements are the same online and offline. You will need to upload your proof of insurance to complete an online car registration.” image-3=”” headline-4=”h3″ question-4=”Can I get a temporary registration while I’m waiting for my proof of insurance?” answer-4=”No, the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles does not issue temporary registrations. You must have your proof of insurance before making any move towards registration.” image-4=”” count=”5″ html=”true” css_class=””]

Important Recommendation


It’s good to stay out of trouble, and getting insurance before registering your vehicle is one way to ensure that in Texas. Also, this article has helped you to understand the cost of car insurance, how to cut down costs, and lots more. Get insurance now, and save yourself the trouble later.

We hope this was of some help.

We look forward to having you again!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *